Award Entry Deadline: November 30, 2023
Each year, the Veterans of Foreign Wars selects emergency medical technicians, law enforcement and firefighter personnel to receive VFW Public Servant Awards. New this year, the dispatcher category has been added.
The criteria for these awards:
  • Recognition by their colleagues or those they serve.
  • Consistent excellence in the performance of their duties.
  • Consistent dedication to their official responsibilities over a period of years and continuous growth in responsibilities and skills within their profession.
Documentation required for all candidates are:
  • Public Servant Award Citation Post Entry Form
  • Nomination letter containing the candidate's name, title, address, telephone and identifying the award for which the individual should be considered.
  • Include justification outlining background in the field, accomplishments, and awards. 
To learn more about the Public Servant Award or submit an entry form, please use the following link:
Public Servant Award Citation Post Entry Form
If you have any questions, please contact the Post Adjutant at
2023-2024 Lee-Pearson VFW Post 1786 Winners:
Law Enforcement of the Year                          Fire Fighter of the Year                                                       Corrections Officer of the Year
Jared Hays                                                             Logan Payne                                                                           Alex Mills
Riley County Police Department                    Manhattan Fire Department                                             Riley County Police Department

Updated: 12/22/23


Our programs support our service members while they are on the front line, as they are being discharged and long after they return. Your tax-deductible donation will be immediately directed to the VFW programs where your support is most urgently needed.